Saturday, Aug. 16, 2014 1:51 pm : Toto we're not in Kansas anymore!
Made it to Jonkoping (yurn-sherping), Sweden!

The trip over was perfect! Uneventful and when I finally made it to the Amsterdam airport I couldn't resist and bought some Stroopwafel. Delish!

I was really happy though that the University provided a pick up service at the central station in Jonkoping. They took us straight to the Uni where they made us sign rent agreements and gave us our keys. When I arrived to the housing complex called Raslatt in Jonkoping it clicked right away that it was a housing estate. There are about 500 students in one corner with a student rec building with the remaining estate filled with families and schools and shops.

The apartment itself made me cry...after travelling for the better part of the day, I didn't expect to walk into dirt, dust and decay. My room got a complete scrub down, and thankfully one of my other room-mates had the same feelings so her and I tackled the worst two rooms in the apartment, the bathroom and kitchen.

I feel better now that my room is clean and I made a trip to Ikea. I had to get another duvet cover and kitchen items because it is really cold and the kitchen was completely bare. I know I sound like a right bitch, but if there is something my Mama taught me, is that you live in a clean space. I don't mind the fact that the apartment is run down, but I do care that it is clean. Anyway I digress to more.

I have 2 room-mates, lovely girls - one from Japan and the other from Spain. Both are working on their English, so I have to be on my best behaviour, no slang or metaphors allowed, lol! O and I have to speak slower too.

I also have a Swedish buddy that I got paired up with. She is from another faculty and basically my youngest sister's age....it makes me feel so old...but I know we will have some fun! She is going to help me navigate the city centre and find me a cell phone and hair straightener, a must for any girl!

School kick off week starts on Monday and I am rather excited. I hope this week will be productive, there are so many little things that I need to get done, but can't until I have more information and my student id/residency permit. In addition, there are many activities planned, so I can't wait to participate. There are a lot of people with very attractive accents...lol. Maybe I will meet my "Sven" - my uncle has been teasing me profusely that I will find a Swed and marry him....we shall see...apparently their is a rumour of a bet going on.

But that's all for now. I am rather tired, it is almost 10 pm Swedish time and I need to make some tea to take to bed with me.