Monday, Jan. 19, 2009 4:48 pm : O, say can we see? (a disaster waiting to happen)
Can I say that tomorrow will be one of the greatest moments of our life time? (When every garden will turn to bushes of roses and tulips, while bunny rabbits and birds will sing sweet songs of love.) The first African-American President in the Untied States will finally be sworn in and even though I am not an American citizen I feel closely involved since our countries trade heavily with each other and each of our polices effect the other. I do hope that what Obama has promised to his people of America is not a farce. More than ever they need accountability and a person(s) who is/are able to start putting America back on track after many, many years of tumbling aimlessly like a tumbleweed. I have my hopes, but I have a feeling that we will all be disappointed in ways. Obama has a heavy weight on his shoulders and I do hope that he is up for the task.
I feel that there has been an over production to some extent on the hoopla and activities surrounding the inauguration for tomorrow. I do get the excitement and anticipation of such an event; I just don�t get the massive amount of over play by the media. Indeed this event is by no means small in importance or scale, and I do wish to see a healthy amount of it on the television. I just down want to hear the endless back stories of traveling 10 hours to Washington and then having to stay on friends floors over night, just to get a spot a mile from the swearing in. Or the over play of O the Obama�s were wearing this and that, and o how pretty their little girls are. I get it, we all get it, this is an amazing day.
I think enough of all this pomp and circumstance and time for the real cracking of the whips here people.
I do have a fear though. One could say that Obama is a truly compelling speaker, all who listen can plainly see that he is a master of oratory. People are compelled to listen, to spread the word and to go and believe in his causes. In all of history there are instances where the truly compelling speakers are elected into office, based on their captivation of the people. Their ability to gain peoples trust and to take them to their side is remarkable. What I am trying to get at is not that I believe in what am about to say will happen, or ever should, it�s just a matter of fear and some trepidation on my part. This thought did cross my mind when Obama mania was just taking off, the thought that when Hitler was in power, the way he got there was by his captivation of the people. His ability at oratory was truly remarkable. If you look back at old tapes of the speeches he gives and then the response of the people give after is eye opening. It makes you wonder if Hitler�s ability at delivering speeches contributed in any to him getting elected into power. I mean once in power anyone can start their own agenda and that is exactly what Hitler did. It just made me wonder about the similarity Obama has in his ability to captivate the people into hope and ideals and in turn getting himself elected. And by no means am I likening Obama to Hilter. No way! It is just an insight.