Thursday, Dec. 06, 2012 10:26 pm : Q: Name and describe the key pillars of the UN Declearation of Business and Human Rights A: Protect, Respect, Remedy
Drama reared it's ugly head today. Escalated to a full on Facebook kerfuffle. I had my Business and Sustainability final this morning, not my favourite class of the semester, however the final proved to be a little controversial. Exploded on Facebook by a fellow student who shall remain nameless urging students all afternoon to send an email stating how unfair the test was resulting with the culmination of our CSS president messaging all of us telling everyone to cool it and not to ambush the profs, but to fill out a Google's Doc containing all of the grievances.Apparently there will be a meeting with a school advisor regarding the fairness of the final.

The issue you may ask...a question worth major points was worded 'poorly' and 'mislead' the 'majority' of the students writing the exam. The question in question in my opinion was worded a tad tricky, but if you read it for the second time there was a dead give away to what the answer was via the name of the deceleration we had to describe. I couldn't help either getting involved on Facebook and being the first one to pipe in on the fact that there should be no issue in the first place and sending emails not even after an hour after the exam wrecks the reputation of all of us, not just those who sent an email right away complaining. Seriously, sleep on it. I have no respect for the girl in question, not that I had any respect for her in the first place. Did she not learn anything we were learning in our Organizational Behaviour class. We just talked about how to approach these situations not even two weeks ago. In my opinion life is not fair, finals will be unfair sometimes, hard, difficult, but complaining after anything we as students find unacceptable even though its completely acceptable drives me crazy. We have had enough poorly worded midterms to know what to expect. The IB midterm was totally not cool, with its multi answer questions but nobody complained and now there is a big irruption over one question on a final. I think that students have a feeling of entitlement where they can have rain and dictate what profs can and can't do on their exams that they administer. Seriously, if I was a teacher, thank god I didn't become one, I would not of responded well if the situation happened to me. It shows a complete lack of respect and undermines everything. It shows that as students we think they have 0 zero accountability, which is so not true. The profs were even gracious enough to go on b-link and send a message out that they were aware of the issues and are taking it into consideration. I just can't wait til the IB final....wonder how big of a kerfuffle that is going to be.