11.16.2007 1:13 am : Neutral Tones
I found this poem in one of my entries back when I was in high school. I thought it would be approprate in this situation as I am seriously still kinda sad.

"Neutral Tones" By Thomas Hardy

We stood by a pond that winter day,
And the sun was white, as though chidden of God,
And few leaves lay on the starving sod;
--They had fallen from an ash and were grey.

Your eyes on me were as eyes that rove
Over tedious riddles of long ago;
And some words played between us to and fro
On which lost the more by our love.

The smile on your mouth was the deadest thing
Alive enough to have strength to die;
And a grin of bitterness swept thereby
like an ominous bird awing....

Since then, keen lessons that love deceives,
And wrings with wrong, have shaped to me
Your face, and the God-curst sun, and a tree,
And a pond edged with greying leaves.


I think that the poem is absolutely true. But what is needed to be realized is that you cannot settle until you have found the best person for you. Don't do anything stupid that you will be regreting later. Don't hold on for loosey goosey reasons. It is not worth it in the long run. I would much rather seeing some short term inital pain than pain and grief along and down the road.

Thnxs Mr. Barros, for being utterly depressing in English 30...thnxs.