Sunday, Dec. 09, 2007 7:24 pm : Magisterium
I saw The Golden Compass last night with sister. I can say that it is a really good movie. The anti-religious undertones are rather obvious. I can see why the self-righteous catholic pricks at the separate school board are getting their patties in a twist. O we should ban the book...it goes against God.... They feel or are threatened by a silly book and movie. The magisterium is a clear reference to the institution of the Church. With that being said, the movie merly shows a side of the church that is not a pleasant one, but one that contains many truths. In the movie, the Magisterium wants to control all aspects of life. In particular they have hidden agendas in which their motives are far from stellar. They want to put an end to dust. In order to so that the Magisterium takes children and "cuts" them from their deamons. The idea that the movie and book gives us is that the Church is not necessarily bad. But it shows the nasty side of really any religion. Any religion which censer or uses propaganda to silence and dumb down their following is really a sin in a way. Religions that do this I think are scared of losing the control that they have over a population. Religions are all about power control, they will really do anything to ensure it.

So I am still on the fence about the whole Cabin thing for the hoildays. I really want to be back in calgary for new years. Ahhh. I guess I still need to work on the rents.